The history of the Principality of Liechtenstein

Picture of one of the first maps showing the Principality of LiechtensteinLiechtenstein is a landlocked country that originally existed as two states - the Duchy of Schellenberg and the county of Vaduz. It is the only country in the world that is named after it's ruling family - the Princes of Liechtenstein.

The royal family of Liechtenstein were Austrian nobility from a castle south of Vienna called Liechtenstein (means light coloured stone or rock). The Liechtenstein's bought a duchy on the banks of the Rhine consisting of Rhine flood plain and a hill - the 'Eschnerberg'. This was the Duchy of Schellenberg and once belonged to the Dukes of Montfort who owned land through this part of the Rhine, and now synonymous with the Austrian town of Feldkirch just over the border from Liechtenstein.

Since 1716, the Princes of Liechtenstein have ruled the country, but there is a wealth of earlier clues as to the origins of the inhabitants, including Roman ruins, bronze-age artefacts etc.


© 2005-2016 About Liechtenstein. All Rights Reserved. Designed By Jack Marketing Solutions.

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.